ISU’s Eisworth repeats on all-Big 12 defense

Greg Eisworth

IRVING, Texas — The Big 12 football coaches announced their all-Big 12 teams this afternoon, and 21 Iowa State players were awarded postseason honors for their efforts on the gridiron in 2019.

Sophomore Charlie Kolar (tight end), senior Julian Good-Jones (offensive lineman) and junior Greg Eisworth (defensive back) were named first-team all-Big 12, while sophomore Brock Purdy (quarterback), freshman Breece Hall (running back), senior Deshaunte Jones (wide receiver), junior Chase Allen (tight end) and senior Ray Lima (defensive line) were named to the second team.

The following Cyclones were named all-Big 12 honorable mention: Trevor Downing (offensive line), Anthony Johnson (defensive back), Jamahl Johnson (defensive line), Josh Knipfel (offensive line), Tayvonn Kyle (defensive back), La’Michael Pettway (wide receiver), Mike Rose (linebacker), Dylan Soehner (tight end), Marcel Spears (linebacker), Eyioma Uwazurike (defensive line), O’Rien Vance (linebacker), Lawrence White (defensive back) and Steve Wirtel (long snapper).

Kolar leads all Big 12 tight ends and ranks in the top-6 nationally among tight ends in receptions (48), yards (675) and touchdowns (7).

Good-Jones anchored a line that has the offense on pace to set school marks in both total offense (458.7) and scoring (34.1).

Eisworth is the fourth Cyclone in school history to earn first-team all-Big 12 accolades twice.

Eisworth tallied 60 tackles, 3.5 tackles for loss, and had one interception during the season. His 11 passes defended led the team and tied for fifth in the Big 12.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)