Meskwaki’s Grant leads all-Iowa Star South unit

Avery Bryant, Taurice Grant, Ryan McLean, Payton Tahahwah

The Meskwaki boys’ basketball team won the Iowa Star Conference South Division this year with an unblemished 12-0 record and an 18-5 overall mark, finishing two games short of qualifying for state. For its efforts, the Warriors got two players honored by the conference’s coaches. GMG and North Tama were also represented on the South Division’s first and second teams.

Meskwaki junior guard Taurice Grant was unanimously named all-conference first team after being the catalyst for the Warriors. Grant averaged 15.7 points per game and shot 55.3 percent from the floor and 35.1 percent from 3-point range. He also averaged 5.7 assists and 4.6 steals per game.

All seven players on the South Division’s first team were selected unanimously, including GMG forward Avery Bryant and North Tama center Ryan McLean.

Bryant, a junior, averaged 14.9 points per game this season on 45.8 percent shooting from the floor. McLean led North Tama with 17.7 points per game and shot 51.1 percent from the floor as a senior.

North Tama senior Luke Pennell was named to the second team, as was GMG senior guard Justin Savadty.

Meskwaki junior forward Victor Balderas was given honorable mention after averaging 15 points and 6.2 rebounds per game on 53.4 percent shooting from the floor. Seniors Adam Cox of GMG and Zach Greiner from North Tama also earned honorable mention selection.

The Meskwaki girls lost in the second round of regionals and finished with an overall record of 14-8 after placing third in the Iowa Star South with an 8-4 divisional record. Senior forward Payton Tahahwah was named to the all-conference first team unanimously after garnering first-team honors in 2019 and second-team selection in 2018. Tahahwah led the Warriors in scoring with 17.2 points per game on 39.8 percent shooting. She averaged 7.3 rebounds per game as well.

Meskwaki junior point guard Deandra Navarro was named to the second team after being an honorable mention last winter. Navarro scored 13.1 points per game for Meskwaki and recorded 46 steals.

GMG senior Belle Duncan was named to the second team as well, averaging 8.7 points for the Wolverines. North Tama junior forward Rylee McLean was named to the second team for the second-straight year after scoring 12.9 points per game to lead the Redhawks.

Geanna Bear was named honorable mention for Meskwaki, averaging 6.8 points per game in her sophomore season. Emily Vaughn of GMG and Abby DeBoef of North Tama were also honorable mention for the division. Vaughn, a junior, led the Wolverines averaging 10 points per game, while DeBoef was the Redhawks’ second-leading scorer (6.4) and rebounder (5.3).

All-Iowa Star Conference Girls Basketball Teams

(* — unanimous selection)


Most Valuable Player — Lauryn Hill, sr., Colo-NESCO

Coach of the Year — Justin Flaws, Collins-Maxwell


*Lauryn Hill, SR, Colo-NESCO

*Rylee Purvis, SR, Colo-NESCO

*Reagan Franzen, JR, Collins-Maxwell

*Alexis Houge, SO, Collins-Maxwell

*Payton Tahahwah, SR, Meskwaki

*Caitlyn Bruntz, SR, Baxter


Emma Stalzer, SR, Colo-NESCO

Kenzie Wierson, SO, Collins-Maxwell

Deandra Navarro, JR, Meskwaki

McKenzie Eslinger, JR, Baxter

Belle Duncan, SR, GMG

Rylee McLean, JR, North Tama


Holly Jessen, SR, Baxter

Emma Kahler, SR, Collins-Maxwell

Ayvarie Bappe, JR, Colo-NESCO

Emily Vaughn, JR, GMG

Geanna Bear, SO, Meskwaki

Abby DeBoef, JR, North Tama

Lauren Dawson, SR, Valley Lutheran


Final Conference Standings

, W-L

Colo-NESCO, 11-1

Collins-Maxwell, 10-2

Meskwaki, 8-4

Baxter, 7-5

GMG, 3-9

North Tama, 3-9

Valley Lutheran, 0-12


All-Iowa Star Conference Boys Basketball Teams

(* — unanimous selection)


Most Valuable Player — Cole Damman, sr., Baxter

Coach of the Year — Zach Hasselbrink, Baxter


*Cole Damman, SR, Baxter

*Carter Nelsen, SR, Baxter

*Ryan McLean, SR, North Tama

*Brett Livesay, SR, Collins-Maxwell

*Avery Bryant, JR, GMG

*Francis Bower, SR, Colo-NESCO

*Taurice Grant, JR, Meskwaki


Rory Heer, SO, Baxter

Luke Pennell, SR, North Tama

Mason Markley, JR, Collins-Maxwell

Justin Savadty, SR, GMG

Brighton Clatt, SR, Colo-NESCO

Nick Beier, SR, Valley Lutheran


Cody Damman, FR, Baxter

John Kasper, SR, Collins-Maxwell

Jack McKinney, SR, Colo-NESCO

Adam Cox, SR, GMG

Victor Balderas, JR, Meskwaki

Zach Greiner, SR, North Tama

Donovan Elmore, SO, Valley Lutheran


Final Conference Standings

, W-L

Meskwaki, 12-0

Baxter, 10-2

North Tama, 7-5

Collins-Maxwell, 6-6

GMG, 4-8

Colo-NESCO, 3-9

Valley Lutheran, 0-12


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today