Feldman named unanimous all-conference

Bobcats’ Libero joined on first team by Oetker

T-R FILE PHOTO - Marshalltown High School senior Libero Kyra Feldman returns serve during the Bobcats’ 3-1 CIML Iowa Conference victory over Mason City on Sept. 29 at the Roundhouse. Feldman was named to the all-conference first team for the first time in her volleyball career.

The CIML Iowa Conference produced the Class 5A state champion, three all-tournament team selections and its captain, but only one player was a unanimous choice for the all-conference first team.

Marshalltown High School senior Libero Kyra Feldman was the lone unanimous pick to the all-CIML Iowa first team after helping first-year head coach Kaylee Peschong and the Bobcats finish in third place in the league standings.

Feldman is Marshalltown’s first unanimous all-conference honoree since outside hitter Regan Mazour earned the distinction in 2017. She finished second in the CIML Iowa Conference with 3.9 kills per set and was the Bobcats’ team leader by more than 90 digs.

Feldman was joined on the all-CIML Iowa first team by junior middle hitter Hayden Oetker, who received her first conference accolade in the process. Oetker led the Bobcats with 168 kills and finished third in the division with 2.8 kills per set.

Feldman, who last year was an honorable mention on the all-conference squad, totaled 250 digs while playing in all 64 sets for Marshalltown in a season cut short by the coronavirus pandemic. Feldman served 220-for-224 for a team-leading 98.2 percent efficiency, also accumulating 20 aces along the way.

Oetker was the Bobcats’ leader in kills (168) and kills per set (2.8) while also proving to be the team’s most efficient attacker (.222). She was second on the team in total blocks (16) and also racked up 21 aces while serving 140-for-160 (87.5).

MHS junior middle hitter Autumn Finch garnered second-team honors on the all-conference squad, moving up from back-to-back seasons of honorable mention status. Finch finished fourth in the conference with 2.7 kills per set and was sixth in the league with 0.7 blocks per set.

Finch missed time at the start of the season because of an ankle injury but returned to pile up 145 kills and team-highs of 14 solo blocks, 25 assists and 39 total blocks.

A third Bobcat junior was named to the all-conference squad, as outside hitter Sophie Younkin received honorable mention. Younkin ranked fourth in the conference with 2.4 kills per set after tabulating 151 kills as well as 11 total blocks. Younkin also finished eighth in the digs (157) and digs per set (2.5), and sixth in service aces (27). She was 172-for-201 serving (85.6).

State champion Ankeny produced three all-conference first-team selections in senior setter Phyona Schrader, senior middle hitter McKenna Scheib and junior outside hitter Ava Reynolds. Reynolds was named the captain of the all-state tournament team after helping the second-ranked Hawks (22-2) harness the 5A title.

Fellow state qualifier Ankeny Centennial tabbed two first-team honorees in junior middle hitter Monica Mirembe and junior outside hitter Olivia Anderson, while Fort Dodge senior outside hitter Kianna Touney rounded out the first eight-player first team.

All-CIML Iowa Conference


(* — denotes unanimous selection)


*Kyra Feldman, sr. L MHS

Phyona Schrader, sr. S Ankeny

Hayden Oetker, jr. MH MHS

Ava Reynolds, jr. OH Ankeny

Monica Mirembe, jr. MH Centennial

McKenna Scheib, sr. MH Ankeny

Kianna Touney, sr. OH Fort Dodge

Olivia Anderson, jr. OH Centennial


Autumn Finch, jr. MH MHS

Aowyn Schrader, jr. MH Ankeny

Lexi Stephens, jr. L Ankeny

Peyton Mitchell, jr. MH Centennial

Ella Becker, jr. L Centennial

Tiegen Barkema, sr. OH Mason City

Alexa Kopaska, jr. MH Ames

Brooke Hansen, sr. MH Fort Dodge


Ames — Maddie Timmermans, sr.; Caroline Wolters, sr.; Rachel Rosacker, sr.; Lola Campbell, jr.; Ireland Buss, so.

Ankeny — Hanna Baier, so.

Ankeny Centennial — Morgan DenBeste, jr.; Marissa Meyer, jr.

Fort Dodge — Tory Bennett, jr.; Olivia Bell, sr.

Marshalltown — Sophie Younkin, jr.

Mason City — Emma Hollander, sr.; Shaye Theobald, sr.; Breanna Lowe, jr.; Jada Williams, jr.; Kylie Trappe, so.


Final Conference Standings


Ankeny 5 0

Ankeny Centennial 3 1

Marshalltown 2 2

Fort Dodge 2 3

Mason City 1 3

Ames 0 4


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)