Iowa’s Taylor named to Ray Guy Award watch list

Tory Taylor

IOWA CITY — University of Iowa sophomore punter Tory Taylor has been named to the 2021 Ray Guy Award Watch List, awarded annually to the nation’s top punter in college football.

Taylor (6-foot-4, 231 pounds) was a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award a year ago and was named the 2020 Big Ten Conference Punter of the Year. He was also named first-team Freshman All-America by FWAA and second-team All-America by The Athletic. Taylor was a first-team All-Big Ten selection by league coaches and media and first-team All-Big Ten by Associated Press and Phil Steele.

The Melbourne, Australia, native was tabbed preseason first-team All-Big Ten by Athlon Sports and Phil Steele.

Established in 2000, the Ray Guy Award is named after College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy. The recipient of the 2021 Ray Guy Award will be announced in December. Iowa’s Ryan Donahue was a finalist for the award in 2010.

Iowa hosts Indiana to open the season on Sept. 4.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today