Iowa gains Big Ten championship game berth

Hawkeyes claim outright West Division title

PHOTO BY BRIAN RAY/HAWKEYESPORTS.COM - Iowa offensive lineman Kyler Schott (64) holds up the Big Ten West Championship Trophy following the Hawkeyes' win against Nebraska on Friday at Memorial Stadium in Lincoln, Neb.

The Iowa Hawkeyes have clinched a berth into the 2021 Big Ten Football Championship Game and will face East Division champion Michigan in Indianapolis.

Iowa defeated Nebraska, 28-21, on Friday to improve to 10-2 overall and 7-2 in Big Ten play. The Hawkeyes’ victory, coupled with Minnesota’s 23-13 win over Wisconsin on Saturday, gave Iowa the outright West Division title and a spot in the Big Ten title game for the second time in program history.

Iowa last reached the Big Ten finale in 2015 when they went 12-0 in the regular season with an unblemished 8-0 record in conference play. The Hawkeyes lost to Michigan State, 16-13.

The Big Ten Football Championship Game will be played at 7 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 4, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. The game will be televised nationally by FOX. The winner will earn the Amos Alonzo Stagg Championship Trophy and a chance to play in one of the six bowl games that comprise the College Football Playoff, including the Rose Bowl Game.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today