Busy ballots to appear in Marshall, Tama counties

Not only do local election ballots feature candidates for city councils and school boards in Marshall County, but also five ballot measures.

Public Measure C for the Marshalltown School District and Public Measure E for the Gladbrook Reinbeck School District pose the question to voters on whether or not to adopt a revenue purpose statement regarding the use of SAVE — Secure an Advanced Vision for Education – funds. Voters in the Vienna Gladbrook-Reinbeck district will vote on Public Measure D which is regarding the SAVE Funds to be used after Jan. 1, 2031.

A simple majority — at least 50 percent — of voters need to be in favor of the SAVE measures.

The Marshalltown School Board, at the Oct. 7 regular board meeting, shared information about the upcoming measure. The revenue purpose statement in place in the district was approved by voters in 2011. The election on Nov. 5 will allow the district to use the funding through 2051.

SAVE funds can be used for but are not limited to:

• Property tax relief

• Providing funds for school safety and security infrastructure

• Improving school buildings and grounds

• Paying of general obligation bonds.

Other measures on Marshall County ballots include:

• Public Measure F is regarding the $32 million general obligation bond for the Iowa Valley Community College District.

• The voters of State Center can decide on Public Measure B which will change the term of the mayor from two years to four effective beginning Jan. 1, 2022.

• Albion citizens can vote on Public Measure A to change the terms of the mayor and the city council from two-year concurrent to four-year staggered terms.

Some Marshall County residents have already made their voices heard. Absentee voting is underway and ballots have been submitted to the Marshall County Auditor. They will be counted on election day Nov. 5.

Tama County

The Tama County Auditor’s office on Wednesday released the final list of candidates that will appear on ballots.

Tama County Auditor Laura Kopsa said there are a fair number of candidates.

“This should help bring people out to vote,” she said.

The races that have multiple candidates are:

• North Tama County Community School District 7: Candidates are David Boldt, Rebecca Dostal and Amber Monat, all of Traer.

• City of Dysart: Candidates for a four-year mayoral term are Tim Glenn and Michael Sharp.

• City of Elberon: Candidates for a two-year mayoral term are incumbent Robert Kesl and Linn Snell.

• City of Garwin: Candidates for three four-year city council positions are Matthew Deam, Darcy McCubbin, Shannon Scheidel and Lorri Waite.

• City of Gladbrook: Candidates for a two-year mayoral term are Christine Hackett and incumbent Keith Sash.

• City of Montour: Candidates for two four-year city council positions are incumbent Charles Bidwell, incumbent Susan Eberhart, Vicky Garske, Jeff Hermanstorfer, Regina Johns, Alan Kelley and Dustin C. Wright.

• City of Tama: Candidates for a four-year mayoral term are John Anderson and Doug Ray; candidates for three four-year city council positions are Matthew Beatty, Randy Fairchild, incumbent Aaron Haughey, Jeff Large, incumbent Kenny McAdoo, Anne Michael, Larry Thomas and incumbent Robert Tyynismaa.

• City of Traer: Candidates for three four-year city council positions are incumbent Carri Holst, PaTrisha Kennedy, Matt Rausch, incumbent Laurie Schafer and Jay Wolfe.

Kopsa said one town – Vining, which has a population 50 – never has anyone on the ballot, but voters can submit write-ins. ‘

“We hope for a great election and that everything goes smooth,” she said.

Contact Lana Bradstream at 641-753-6611 or lbradstream@timesrepublican.com


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)