Hoop, Thompson and Isom city council winners

Marshalltown voters went to the polls Tuesday and returned two incumbents and elected businessman Gary Thompson to the at-large seat.


The third time was the charm for Thompson in winning the closely watched at-large seat which became available when Leon Lamer announced his retirement earlier this year.

Thompson defeated political newcomer Dex Walker, 1,170 to 1,058, a difference of 112 votes.

Thompson said he would work to represent all the residents of Marshalltown. He plans to meet with Greer, department heads and residents before he is sworn-in shortly after the new year. 

All results were unofficial from the Secretary of State’s website which showed four of four precincts reporting. All votes are unofficial until canvassed by the Marshall County Board of Supervisors in the immediate future.

Second Ward

Incumbent Gabe Isom defeated opponent Tyler Johnson, 399 to 251, a difference of 148 votes.

“I am looking forward to serving a four-year term and serving the residents of the second ward,” he said. “I have been able to get my feet on the floor the first two years. I am looking forward to continuing progress we have made”

Johnson is an insurance agent with a local Farmers Insurance Group office.

“I would say it was a good run for my first time,” he said. “I have learned a lot this year and will enjoy learning more as I follow city council in the future.”

Fourth Ward

Incumbent Al Hoop will return for a fourth four-year term.

Running unopposed, he garnered 546 votes, or 78 percent, versus 152, or nearly 22 percent over a number of write-in candidates led by Mark Eaton. Eaton is a regular attendee at city council meetings and has been critical of council spending and has called for more transparency. He pledged to mount an aggressive write-in campaign.

Hoop announced his intentions to run for re-election earlier this year. He is a strong advocate for street repair and closely monitors expenses of the joint Marshalltown Police Department/Fire Department facility. Hoop has also been publicly critical about city spending this year.

“I hope tonight’s vote means people respect me and I am doing the job they want me to do,” he said. “And I will continue to do that.”

Hoop retired after 37 years at Emerson Process Management and is a U.S. Army veteran.

City council

City councilors are paid slightly more than $3,000 per year.

The city council meets the second and fourth Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in council chambers at 10 W. State St.

Contact Mike Donahey at 641-753-6611 or mdonahey@timesrepublican.com

Michael Donahey|Staff and Features Reporter

Times-Republican Marshalltown Newspaper, LLC

135 West Main Street

Marshalltown, Iowa 50158

641-753-6611 ext 252



Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)