MCSD Board receives awards

The Marshalltown Community School District announces that the MCSD School Board has received the 2022-23 Team Achievement Award and Superintendent Dr. Theron Schutte has received the 2022-23 Award of Honor from the Iowa Association of School Boards.

IASB presented the awards on Nov. 16 during the IASB Annual Convention in Des Moines. Awards are given each year to board members, board teams and superintendents/AEA chief administrators/community college presidents who are committed to improving the knowledge and skills by attending IASB-led events.

The Team Achievement Award is presented to the whole board when a majority of the board directors receive the Individual Achievement Award for the year and the board has a policy that supports board development. Board members receive the Individual Achievement Award after completing 15 hours of IASB-led learning in one year.

The following board members received the 2022-23 Individual Achievement Award: Sean Heitmann, Sara Faltys, Bonnie Lowry, Leah Stanley and Zach Wahl. Since there was a majority, the MCSD School Board was one of 30 school boards to receive the 2022-23 Team Achievement Award.

“This award recognizes the time and effort our board members spend increasing their knowledge and developing their skills as board members,” said Heitmann. “We have made it a priority for many years to be a learning board, and have worked to develop a culture of learning and improvement. To have our board and so many of our individual members recognized for those efforts is great to see.”

The 2022-23 Award of Honor is presented to school administrators, AEA administrators or community college presidents who complete a minimum of 15 hours of learning in one year and had at least two individual board members who earned Individual Achievement Award. Schutte was one of the 29 superintendents to receive this award for the 2022-23 school year.

“I’m thrilled that the Marshalltown Community School District Board of Education has achieved the Team Achievement Award for the sixth time in the past seven years,” said Schutte. “It speaks volumes to the commitment a majority of our board members have made to continuously learn, grow and develop into the most effective board members they can be for our students, staff and the community at-large.”


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today