Raveling enshrined to Naismith Hall of Fame

Former University of Iowa head men’s basketball coach George Raveling was one of 11 men and women enshrined to the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on Friday in Springfield, Mass.

Joining Raveling were Dick Bavetta, John Calipari, Louis Dampier, Lindsay Gaze, Spencer Haywood, Tom Heinsohn, John Isaacs, Dikembe Mutombo, Jo Jo White and Lisa Leslie.

Raveling is the current Director of International Basketball for Nike and a former men’s college basketball coach. He served as an assistant coach at his alma mater Villanova (1963-69) and then Maryland (1970-72), where he helped lead the 1970-71 Terrapins to an undefeated regular season.

As a head coach, Raveling led Washington State (1972-83) to two NCAA tournament appearances and Iowa (1983-86) to back-to-back 20-win seasons and a pair of NCAA Tournament berths. He also took USC (1986-94) to two NCAA appearances and was named Kodak National Coach of the Year (1992), Basketball Weekly Coach of the Year (1992), Black Coaches Association Coach of the Year (1992) and CBS/Chevrolet National Coach of the Year (1994).

In 1984 and 1988, Raveling served as an assistant coach for the U.S. Olympic teams. Raveling was the first African-American coach in the ACC and Pac-8 (now the Pac-12).

He was honored with the John W. Bunn Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.

Former Hawkeye Don Nelson (1959-62) was enshrined into the Naismith Hall of Fame in 2012.