Bobcat trio named to all-district first team


Three Marshalltown football players were named to the Class 4A District 4 all-district team.

Defensive back Reese Hageman, linebacker Maddux Richardson and offensive lineman Cole Wilson were all named as first-team, all-district players this year, helping the Bobcats to a 2-7, 1-4 record.

Hageman had 10 catches for 87 yards and six carries for 39 yards in 2016. The senior had a nose for the ball, leading the Bobcats with six fumble recoveries and a team-high three interceptions, returned for 51 yards. Only one player in the entire state had seven fumble recoveries, tying Hageman for second among all classes with six.

Richardson caught 15 passes for 174 yards and a team-high four touchdowns this year. His 174 yards were third on the team. behind senior TJ Snyder and junior Josh Melde.

Richardson scored the most points (30) than any other Bobcat this year. The senior player was on both sides of the ball, taking his lone interception of the year back for 36 yards for one of two Marshalltown defensive touchdowns this year.

Snyder, juniors Kody Ricken and Sam Irwin were all named to the second-team, all-district squads. Ricken was out for a majority of the season with a knee injury, while Irwin was fourth in the district in passing yards with 1,218. He threw for 10 touchdowns and six picks.

Melde, along with Ryan Huffman, Jose Inocencio, Avery Brooks, Tyler Baccam, Carlos Gomez, Austin Tullis, Noah DeVenney and Decker Mann were all honorable mentions on the all-district release.