McLean and Vavroch tab all-Iowa Star South laurels

Rylee McLean and Sydney Vavroch

It was one last all-conference honor for one of North Tama’s most consistent players, and just the first for one of GMG’s future stars.

North Tama senior Rylee McLean received first-team honors in the Iowa Star Conference’s South Division for the second year in a row, while GMG freshman Sydney Vavroch gained first-team recognition forthe first time.

On an all-conferecnce squad dominated by Class 1A perennial powerhouse Collins-Maxwell, McLean received recognition for the fourth time in her career while Vavroch got her first. Collins-Maxwell had five of the 11 first-team honorees, including Player of the Year Alexis Houge, while GMG head coach Kati Barnes was named the league’s Coach of the Year after the Wolverines won five conference games for the first time since 2016.

McLean was twice named to the all-conference second team before back-to-back first-team laurels. She led the Redhawks and ranked seventh in the South Division with a .438 batting average, powered by a league-leading three home runs. McLean was second

in the South with six doubles and a .906 slugging percentage.

Vavroch led GMG with a .303 batting average, going 10-for-33 with 12 runs scored and nine RBIs. She also paced the Wolverines with 11 stolen bases, which ranked sixth in the division.

GMG had a pair of second-team all-conference selections as well, as senior outfielder Emily Vaughn and junior infielder Kennadi Sederburg were honored. Vaughn, the team’s center fielder, batted .293 with five doubles, a triple and eight RBIs in league play. She scored 12 runs and had five stolen bases. Sederburg, a first baseman, batted .279 with six RBIs and 10 runs scored.

GMG’s honorable mention selection was senior right fielder Saige Frost, and North Tama’s recipient was freshman catcher Jamie Jacobs. Frost batted .292 in 13 conference games, scoring nine runs and driving in three, while Jacobs hit .378 with a double, 12 runs scored and four RBIs. She stole a team-leading 11 bases.

All-Iowa Star Conference South Division Softball Teams

Player of the Year — Alexis Houge, jr., Collins-Maxwell

Coach of the Year — Kati Barnes, GMG


Erica Houge, fr., P, Collins-Max

Marissa Boege, so., C, Collins-Max

Alexis Houge, jr., INF, Collins-Max

Reagan Franzen, sr., INF, Collins-Max

Izabell Voelker, jr., INF, Colo-NESCO

Mandee Selover, so., INF, Baxter

Avery Fricke, jr., OF, Collins-Max

Madison Pierce, sr., OF, Baxter

Rylee McLean, sr., OF, North Tama

Jenna Hill, jr., UT, Colo-NESCO

Sydney Vavroch, fr., UT, GMG


Callie Kohlwes, so., P, Colo-NESCO

Abigail Hostetler, so., C, Colo-NESCO

Kenzi Wierson, jr., INF, Collins-Max

McKenzie Niemeyer, sr., INF, Colo-NESCO

Kennadi Sederburg, jr., INF, GMG

Allison Colyn, jr., INF, Baxter

Lilie Vansice, jr., OF, Baxter

Natalie Swanson, sr., OF, Colo-NESCO

Emily Vaughn, sr., OF, GMG


Ally Padget, jr., Baxter; Sofie Wattonville, jr., Collins-Maxwell; Annabelle Nessa, fr., Colo-NESCO; Saige Frost, sr., GMG; Jamie Jacobs, fr., North Tama.


Final Conference Standings


Collins-Maxwell, 13-0

Baxter, 7-6

Colo-NESCO, 6-7

GMG, 5-8

North Tama, 0-13


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today