All 15 Iowa women get to wrestling nationals

INDIANOLA — The second-ranked University of Iowa women’s wrestling team had all 15 regional participants qualify for the National Collegiate Women’s Wrestling Championships on Friday at Simpson College. Iowa also claimed the Region V title by accumulating 220 team points.

The Hawkeyes had 11 wrestlers reach the finals, finishing with champions at six weight classes.

“These 15 qualifiers are a combination of the support from administration, the community, staff, family, and the work day in and day out from our wrestlers,” said Iowa coach Clarissa Chun. “I think of each and every one of these girls’ individual journey throughout the season, and just to see their growth and knowing where they want to be and how they want to execute is awesome. It’s a great day to be a Hawkeye.”

At 101 pounds, Emilie Gonzalez defeated teammate Sterling Dias. Gonzalez by decision, 7-0. At 109, Ava Bayless captured the title over McKendree’s Pauline Granados, 4-2.

There was another all-Iowa matchup at 11 where Brianna Gonzalez defeated teammate Felicity Taylor by decision, 9-3. Reese Larramendy brought home the 143 title with her victory over former national champion Emma Bruntil of McKendree in a 4-2 decision.

At 155, Marlynne Deede won the title defeating teammate Bella Mir, 6-2. Kylie Welker made quick work of her finals match at 170, earning the technical fall over Tristan Kelly of McKendree, 10-0.

The Hawkeyes will head to NCWWC Nationals on March 8-9 in Cedar Rapids. Action inside of the Alliant Energy Powerhouse will begin at 11 a.m. on Friday and Saturday.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today