SPORTS SHORTS: Falcons hand Comets their first loss

CONRAD — The BCLUW girls basketball team got to put its 2-0 start to the test against preseason-ranked Aplington-Parkersburg, and the Falcons rose to the occasion.

Class 2A No. 5 Aplington-Parkersburg forced the host Comets into 42 turnovers and prevailed in its season opener, 58-44, on Monday night in a cross-NICL contest. The Falcons led 35-14 at the half and had plenty of cushion to hold off BCLUW (2-1), which outscored them 30-23 after the break.

Sophia Jungling led A-P with 20 points, six steals and five assists, and Megan Johnson made three 3-pointers and finished with 11 points, and Karson DeGroote added five points.

Madison Ubben led BCLUW with a double-double of 22 points and 13 rebounds, and Chloe Walters chipped in with nine points and eight rebounds. Betula Messerly added six points, four boards and four assists.

The Comets are back in action Friday with their NICL West Division opener at 1A No. 15 AGWSR.

Bobcat QB Club scheduled for Friday

The Marshalltown High School Quarterback Club will meet again for lunch on Friday at noon at Calvin Rockett Bar & Grill.

Bobcat varsity coaches Brian Murphy of the girls basketball team, Michael Appel of the boys basketball team and Mike Loupee of the boys swimming squad will be on hand to provide insight to their programs.

12 Panthers picked for all-MVC teams

ST. LOUIS — Twelve Northern Iowa football players were named to the all-Missouri Valley Football Conference teams announced by the league Monday.

Five Panthers earned first-team honors, four UNI players were named to the second team and three were named honorable mention.

Senior guard Jackson Scott-Brown, junior defensive tackle Elerson G. Smith, sophomore receiver Isaiah Weston and freshmen Omar Brown (defensive back) and Matthew Cook (kicker) were named to the all-MVFC first team.

Juniors Spencer Brown (offensive line), Jared Brinkman (defensive tackle) and Xavior Williams (defensive back) along with sophomore Chris Kolarevic (linebacker) were named to the second team.

Senior defensive backs Christian Jegen and Roosevelt Lawrence and freshman quarterback Will McElvain received honorable mention selection.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)