Names & Notes

ECC’s professor receives ACCT Distinguished Faculty Award

IOWA FALLS — Ellsworth Community College’s Agriculture Professor Kevin Butt was chosen as the recipient of the Association of Community College Trustees 2018 Central Regional Faculty Member Award. The award was presented on Oct. 26 in New York City. Butt was accompanied by Iowa Valley Community College District Chancellor Dr. Christopher Duree, IVCCD Board President Larry Johnson, IVCCD Board Directors members Joanna Hofer, Deborah Jones and Deb Crosser and his wife Honoria Balogh.

ACCT’s regional awards program, annually recognizes one trustee, equity program, chief executive officer, faculty member and professional board staff member in each of its five regions for their tremendous contributions to community colleges, according to the ACCT website.

“I was amazed as I visited with the recipients from the other regions that I could be in the same league as they are,” Butt said. “I truly am grateful to everyone who has been with me over the years. To all the former students, administrators, friends, industry partners and family…I dedicate this award to you”

“All of us are very proud of Kevin and the ECC Agriculture program. Kevin has proven to be an exceptional faculty member who genuinely cares about our mission and demonstrates that passion through his work day in and day out,” Duree said. “I have witnessed firsthand how much respect Kevin’s colleagues across the state and country have for him because of his longstanding commitment to ag education. The ACCT award is a fitting recognition for his many years of service to our students, ECC, IVCCD, ag education and the ag industry.”


Submit local business news

The Times-Republican invites businesses in its circulation area to submit brief items concerning their employees or businesses for the Names & Notes column, which is published on Sundays.

Potential subjects of these business briefs include announcements of new businesses, branch acquisitions, departures of longtime employees, employee recognitions or new hires. Submissions will be edited and run on a space-available basis. Items must be received by 5 p.m. Thursday for consideration in Sunday’s column.

Submit brief articles and JPEG headshots to: Names & Notes, Newsroom, Times-Republican, 135 W. Main St., Marshalltown 50158, or call Kathy Beane at 641-753-6611 or email news@timesrepublican.com


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)