Local educators recognized by IASB

DES MOINES — The Iowa Association of School Boards presented the 2018-19 Better Boardsmanship Awards on Nov. 21 during the IASB Annual Convention in Des Moines. The awards are given each year to board members, board teams and superintendents who dedicate time and effort to learning, advocacy, leadership and service projects to expand their knowledge and skills for better governance. Applicants must accumulate a specific number of credits to earn these awards. The Marshalltown Community School District Board has been the recipient of a Better Boardsmanship Award.

The Award of Honor was presented to eight superintendents who invested time and effort to build skills and knowledge needed to be informed decision makers. Dr. Theron Schutte, superintendent of the Marshalltown Community School District was one of eight so honored leaders.

Visit the IASB website www.ia-sb.org for a full list of award winners and photos of the winners receiving recognition.

IASB is a nonprofit organization representing Iowa’s 327 school districts, nine area education agencies and 15 community colleges.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today