SPEEDWAY REPORT: McBirnie takes Stock Car win

It was Vessco Inc. night at the races, and $2,000-to-win Highbanks after the Creek Dirt Crown Series for the IMCA Stock Cars on Friday night at the Marshalltown Speedway. It brought in a nice field of drivers from several states that have been competing in the series, as well as the weekly racers.

Feature racing kicked off with the Outlaw Mini Mods running their 12-lap main event and they did it caution-free.

Early leader was Lucas Daniels, but by lap five, it was Ben Kraus in command. From there on out he stretched it out to a substantial lead and took it home to the checkers. Chase Daniels chased the leader much of the distance and took the runner-up position. Ninth-place starter Matthew Grobe of Austin, Minn., finished in third, fourth went to pole sitter Lucas Daniels, and Nathan Kilwine of Glenville, Minn., rounded out the top five.

The Mod Lites, presented by Knight Sanitation, ran their 15-lap feature next.

David Bailey jumped to the immediate lead and was looking strong until bad luck bit him in turn two when he spun just after lap four was in the books. New leader was Colona, Ill., driver Jason Masengarb, with Jon Padilla of Silvis, Ill., hot on his tail. By lap seven, it was Padilla taking command. Padilla then stretched out his lead and took it home to an easy win. Josh May started 10th and took second place. Jason Masengarb took third, fourth went to Alex Eischeid, and 11th-place starter Randy Bryan was fifth. Padilla, who started ninth, claimed his third feature of the season.

The 20-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature, presented by Big 8 Tyre Center, had some issues. It took the third try to even get the race started. When they finally found their rhythm, it was Sam West leading the field.

West held the top spot through three more yellow flags, but at lap 17, the hard-fought contest behind the leader saw a scary incident, bringing out a red flag. Calvin Dhondt went for a hard roll, ending upside down on the frontstretch, as other cars got caught up in the chaos, eliminating eight cars. Thankfully no one was hurt.

When racing resumed, West maintained his lead and went home to the flying checkers and the win. Corey Van Der Wilt started 14th and finished as the runner-up. Third went to 24th-place starter Darin DeZwarte, Rick Kriegel started 19th and was fourth, and 15th-place starter Derrick McNeece was fifth. Only seven cars finished the incident-marred contest.

The IMCA Northern SportMod 20-lap feature, presented by Rugged Radios, came next and it was Jenae Gustin on a rail — leading the entire 20 laps.

Gustin started third and pulled an expertly maneuvered slide out of turn four to take the lead as lap one was scored. She never looked back from there and took the checkers comfortably over Brady Hilmer. Matt Avila finished in third, fourth was 12th-place starter Brayton Carter, and Travis Petersen was fifth. This was Gustin’s third feature win of the year.

The IMCA Stock Cars were racing for $2,000-to-win in a Dirt Crown East Series race that saw 35 drivers try to earn that payday. They ran a B Main qualifying four cars, whittling the starting field down to 24 cars for a 30-lap feature.

Jake McBirnie led the field to green for the contest, and that was all she wrote as he would lead all 30 laps on his way to Victory Lane. He was chased most of the distance by the Chelsea Charger — Damon Murty — but on this night, Murty had to be satisfied with the runner-up spot. Kaden Reynolds ripped the lip of the track in the latter portion of the race in an attempt to gain ground but had to be content with third. Fourth went to Jim Horejsi of Marshall, Minn., who advanced 17 spots to take the hard-charger award, and Garrett Corn completed the top five.

The finale of the night was 20 laps of IMCA Modified racing, presented by Tire Demon by Love Tap.

Richie Gustin led the opening laps of the race, but Joel Rust was quickly up to challenge. By lap five, Rust had the lead and he would keep the upper hand the rest of the way. Eleventh-place starter Todd Shute got by Jake McBirnie late in the race as they went second and third respectively. Last week’s winner Tripp Gaylord started 10th and finished in fourth, and Izac Mallicoat took fifth.

This Friday, July 28, is the Dale DeFrance Memorial honoring the late hometown racer. It is a Hoker Super Late Model Race Series race with big money on the line. The Late Model race as of this writing pays $4,644 to win and $750 to start. Modifieds are $3,044 to win and $220 to start. Stock Cars are $1,444 and $185 to start. Northern SportMods are racing for $1,044 and $180 to start, and the Hobby Stocks payoff is $744 and $125 to start.

Grandstands open at 5:30 p.m., hot laps are 6:55 p.m. and the green flag drops at 7:30 p.m.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today