Clark, Martin selected to watch list

IOWA CITY — University of Iowa seniors Caitlin Clark and Kate Martin have been named to the Ann Meyers Drysdale USBWA National Player of the Year Watch List. Clark won the award last season.

The award is presented to the nation’s top NCAA Division I women’s basketball player, and the winner will be announced on site at the Final Four in Cleveland.

In Clark’s senior campaign, she became the NCAA’s all-time leading scorer by surpassing Washington’s Kelsey Plum. The West Des Moines native has broke the Iowa all-time records for scoring, assists and 3-pointers made.

Martin is the first Iowa women’s basketball player to have amassed more than 900 points, 500 rebounds, 400 assists, 120 steals and 60 blocks in a career.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.38/week.

Subscribe Today